FR - EN - CH - JP

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec et le Château Malromé

The Countess Adèle de Toulouse-Lautrec achieved the acquisition of the château Malromé, which is located in the region of Entre-Deux-Mers in Gironde in the year of 1883. His son, the famous painter and lithographer, Henri de Toulouse-lautrec loved his family home where he came to rest.

Virtuoso in the evocation of bodies in motion, Henri illustrates the themes of theatre, circus, and the world of Parisian pleasures. He is a lucid and ruthless observer of the late nineteenth century social mores. He has a unique place in the history of painting, bringing his modernity and personal strangeness, in total freedom.

His quest for authenticity brought him back each summer to Malromé, where he found the affection of his family and his workshop in the castle. He was seduced by the beautiful scenery and tranquility. There he died on September 9th, 1901.

Henri was considered as the “the soul of Montmartre”, the parisian neighborhood where he lived. His paintings depicted the life at the Moulin Rouge and in other Montmartre or parisian cabarets and theaters.

Paris attracted the painter by its artificial paradise; it was the antidote to his desperation. Malromé, it seduced him by its softness, tranquility and truth.

As a true amateur of wine, Henri derided with a big sense of humor and summarized his penchant for wine in a funny way: “When the cows eat grapes, I’ll drink milk.”

Henri enjoyed the vineyards of Malromé and was inexhaustible on the Bordeaux wines.

This complicity between the famous painters and the wines of Bordeaux is celebrated by the brand “Henri de Malromé”.

FR - EN - CH - JP

Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec et le Château Malromé

La Comtesse Adèle de Toulouse-Lautrec réalisa l'acquisition du Château Malromé, situé dans l'Entre-Deux-Mers en Gironde en 1883. Son fils, le célèbre peintre et lithographe Henri de toulouse-lautrec aimait cette demeure familiale où il venait se ressourcer.

Virtuose dans l’évocation des corps en mouvement, Henri illustre les thèmes du théâtre, du cirque, et du monde des plaisirs parisiens. C’est un observateur lucide et impitoyable des moeurs de cette fin du XIXème siècle. Il occupe une place unique dans l’histoire de la peinture, en apportant sa modernité et son étrangeté personnelle, avec une liberté totale.

Sa quête d’authenticité le ramenait chaque été à Malromé où il retrouvait l’affection des siens et son atelier au château. La beauté du paysage et sa quiétude le séduisaient. C’est là qu’il s’est éteint, le 9 Septembre 1901.

Henri était considéré comme « l’âme de Montmartre », le quartier parisien où il habitait. Ses peintures dépeignent la vie au Moulin Rouge et dans d’autres cabarets et théâtres montmartrois ou parisiens.

Paris attirait le peintre par ses paradis artificiels ; c'était l’antidote à son désespoir. Malromé, lui, le séduisait par sa douceur, sa quiétude, sa vérité.

Amateur inconditionnel et éclairé de vin, maniant la dérision et l'humour, il résumait de façon cocasse son penchant vinicole : "Quand les vaches mangeront du raisin, je boirai du lait".

Henri profitait du vignoble de Malromé et était intarissable sur les vins de Bordeaux.

C'est cette complicité entre le célèbre peintre et les vins de Bordeaux que vient célébrer la marque Henri de Malromé.